Discussion with the designer, Annick Windal...

... A story of passion for handbags

What is your professional background?

I have always been attracted to style, fashion and the well-being that comes with them. After a first experience in interior design and working for a fashion design agency, I turned towards image coaching. For 15 years, in Lille and then in Paris, I coached and advised women who needed a change and  were looking for a new style as well as a customized wardrobe.

How did you know you wanted to design handbags?

I like harmony, and when I advised my clients on their look, I always looked for elegant and affordable handbags that fit their figure; something chic and discrete, nothing like a tote bag. This was hard to find. Beyond that, deep down, I have always had a passion for handbags and leather.

Tell us about the creation of your brand...

I  designed a first model inspired from the 1950: small, square shaped, with gussets and a chic clasp. I had it made in a workshop. The Trianon was born. I exposed a few of them in several parisian pop us stores and it was a huge success. So I decided to go for it and launch my own brand. This was in 2014. The Flore was my second design, then followed the Mirabeau and Carrousel in 2016. Finally the Bel Ami was born in 2018.

Tell us a bit more about your eponymous brand, Annick Windal, which was created 4 years ago now…

It is a high-end brand manufactured in France. All handbags are hand-made with high quality material in a parisian workshop and make up a minimalist and timeless collection; sharp and simple lines, noble materials. With sophisticated finishing, because sobriety does not suffer from any imperfection. The turnstile clasp represents the brand’s emblem.

Where do you get your inspiration from?

From everywhere. On the street, metro, exhibits, restaurants…The daily life inspires me. I observe women, the way they wear their handbag, and above all how they act around it. The handbag is their reflection. I always think about what a different handbag could bring to their look.

What is a perfect handbag according to you?

In order to be perfect, a handbag must be small – we always put too many things in our bags – elegant; it must enhance the silhouette. The handbag is the natural extension of a woman’s body. It allows us to express ourselves in our movements. It must be organized and compartmentalized in order to easily find what we need. It must also be pleasant to the touch. Inside the handbags, I use lamb leather for a velvety feeling when slipping our fingers into the bag.

Do you like to play with different materials, colors…?

Yes, it is incredible how many variations of a handbag it is possible to make based on one model. Alternating between smooth leather and suede, changing the topstitching, replacing a leather handle by a chain…And of course, the colors. Playing with bright and pastel colors in the summer, using more neutral and warm colors in the winter…Combinations and possibilities are limitless and allow for a wide variety of looks.

What are your projects for your brand?

First of all, the launch of my eshop which will constitute a major shift for the brand as it will be visible abroad. Women from all around the world will be able to order their own “made in France” Annick Windal handbag which will be delivered no later than 3 weeks after purchase. In terms of new creations, the Petit Trianon will expand and enhance the collection in October. It will be a smaller version of the Trianon.

Made in France

Hand-made

Customizable

Follow me on Instagram

Entretien avec la créatrice, Annick Windal...

... Histoire d’une passion pour les sacs

Quel est votre parcours ?

J’ai toujours été sensible au style, à la mode et au bien-être. Après une première expérience dans la décoration intérieure et un passage dans un bureau de stylisme, je me suis orientée vers le conseil en image. J’ai accompagné les femmes à la recherche d’un nouveau look et d’une garde robe « sur-mesure », pendant 15 ans, à Lille puis à Paris.

Comment vous est venue l’idée de créer des sacs ?

J’aime l’harmonie, et quand je conseillais mes clientes, je cherchais des sacs élégants mais abordables qui n’alourdissent pas la silhouette, le contraire d’un « fourre tout »… Difficile à trouver. Au-delà, il y avait au fond de moi une très ancienne et très profonde passion pour les sacs et le cuir.

Racontez-nous vos débuts...

J’ai dessiné un premier modèle inspiré des années 50 : petit, carré, à soufflets, habillé d’un petit fermoir bijou. Je l’ai fait fabriquer par un atelier. Le modèle Trianon était né. J’ai testé une petite série de ce modèle dans plusieurs pop-up stores parisiens. Il a plu, tout de suite ! Alors, je me suis lancée. C’était en 2014. Le Flore a très vite suivi, puis le Mirabeau et le Carrousel en 2016, enfin le Bel Ami en 2018.

Parlez-nous de votre marque éponyme, Annick Windal, qui a quatre ans à présent

C’est une marque haut-de-gamme, de fabrication française. Tous les sacs sont taillés dans des peaux de première qualité, assemblés et cousus intégralement à la main dans un atelier parisien. La collection est minimaliste et intemporelle : des lignes simples, épurées, des matières nobles… Avec des finitions ultra raffinées car la sobriété ne souffre aucune imperfection. Le fermoir bijou « tourniquet » représente l’emblème de la marque.

Où puisez-vous votre inspiration ?

Partout ! Dans la rue, le métro, les expositions, les restaurants… Je m’inspire du quotidien. J’observe la manière dont les femmes portent leur sac et surtout comment elles se comportent avec lui. Il est un peu leur miroir. J’imagine toujours ce qu’un sac différent pourrait apporter à leur allure.

Qu’est-ce qu’un sac idéal pour vous ?

Pour être parfait, il doit être petit – on en met toujours trop dans un sac -, élégant, et en en même temps sublimer la silhouette. Le sac est le prolongement naturel du corps de la femme. Il a ce pouvoir de nous libérer dans nos mouvements. Il doit donc être organisé, et compartimenté pour permettre de retrouver facilement un objet. Sans oublier d’être agréable au toucher. Pour l’intérieur, je choisis une doublure en agneau plongé pour une sensation veloutée quand on y glisse la main.

Vous aimez jouer avec les matières, les couleurs... ?

Oui, c’est incroyable les déclinaisons qu’il est possible de faire à partir du même modèle. Alterner le cuir lisse avec le daim, modifier une surpiqure, remplacer une anse en cuir par une chaîne… Et puis évidemment, il y a les coloris. Jouer avec les acidulés ou les pastels pour l’été, utiliser des tons plus chauds, plus neutres l’hiver… Les combinaisons sont infinies et produisent des styles très variés.

Quels sont vos projets pour la marque ?

Tout d’abord, le lancement de la boutique en ligne (adresse site), un virage important pour la marque car cela va lui donner une visibilité à l’étranger. Les femmes du monde entier vont pouvoir commander leur sac « made in France » qui leur parviendra sous trois semaines. Côté création, le Petit Trianon va venir enrichir la collection en octobre. Il sera une version réduite du Trianon.

Propos recueillis par Marianne Martin dit Neuville

Made in France

Fabrication artisanale

Sur commande

Suivez-nous sur Instagram